the seven chakras by vidushi gupta

In Mahabharata, Arjuna asked Krishna what is the use of Human body if it is only the soul that matters, and if we should not get too attached to the bodies, why even have them at the first place. Krishna smiled and replied, “It is only through the body a soul gets the experiences so that it can ascend, as an energy, a soul standalone cannot.”

And thus, as spiritual beings, our body became gifted of seven energy cyclic points, or the chakras. It is said when a baby is born all these Chakras are completely activated and working, but as the child grows, the societal rules “closes off” the Chakras and hence the quality of our life, both materially and spiritually diminishes.

In the last decade or two, however, the word became popular as Yoga came to life worldwide and became a thing. People, as they became more and more spiritual beyond religion and traditions started their active journey for Chakra meditation, opening, healing, and activation to transcend from unconsciousness to consciousness. 

Here are the Seven Chakras present in our body:

1.The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The Root Chakra is located at the base of one’s spine. The ruling colour is red. The Root Chakra, the first chakra, as the name suggests is the root of the body and has everything to do with the stability and security of how we feel on mental and physical terms.

Just like the roots of a tree keeps it firmly fix on the ground to stand tall, likewise, via the activation of our root chakra we feel safe in all spheres of our life like career, family, and in general position of ours in the world. The blocking of the Root Chakra can lead to feeling insecure and exhausted, anxious, depressed, or stressful, or stuck.

2. The Sacral Chakra (Swadhishthana)

The Sacral Chakra is in the lower abdomen and is coloured in orange and the second Chakra in the human body and just like its placement has everything to do with the expression of emotions, pleasure, creativity, sensuality and sexuality.

An activated sacral chakra will help an individual to feel more stimulated, excited and energetic in the emotional spectrum especially in interpersonal relationships and even in establishing healthy boundaries and respecting other’s as well, giving a balanced relationship dynamic. A closed sacral chakra depicts low energy, less or no creativity, emotional disbalance, problems in sexuality.  

3. The Solar Plexus (Manipura)

The Solar Plexus Chakra is in the navel area. The defining colour is yellow. As the third chakra is the governing energy point for our ability about our confidence and decision making. An unblocked sacral gives a very strong sense of purpose in life and makes one feel self-motivated to achieve their goals.

A blocked sacral chakra is characterised by symptoms like low self-esteem, anger issues, validation issues. As this chakra is linked with the fire or Agni element, not keeping it balanced can cause a person to act in impulsive ways.

4. The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Heart Chakra is in the centre of your chest and is of green colour. In Sanskrit ‘Anahata’ means ‘unhurt’ or ‘unbeaten’ and is the fourth chakra as an energy point. Placed at right the centre it serves for what it stands for: love, compassion, empathy, and forgiveness.

This Chakra is all about love in the purest form for both self and others. A blocked heart Chakra can give problems like lack of trust, rejection fears, co or over dependency, attachment issues.

5.The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The Throat Chakra is in throat with blue colour. This fifth chakra in our body is related to our ability to speak and express our truth, the strength that we need to bring out our true purpose, personality, opinions, individuality and be what we authentically are.

It is all about our communication of our inner reality and self-expression of how we truly feel about any given aspect. If your throat chakra is not activated some of the most issues that can arise are that one will be fearful about speaking their truths and thoughts and even in general confident communicating.

6. The Third Eye Chakra (Agya)

The Ajna or the Agya Chakra is located between the eyes. It is the sixth Chakra and the last one that is located inside the body and is responsible for one’s awareness, perception, inner wisdom and spirituality. The activation of this chakra helps us in raising our consciousness and intuition so that we can perceive beyond what is visible.

When this chakra is blocked it creates problems in focus, clarity, lack of intuition and imagination, surface level vision and confusion.

7. The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head around 2-3 inches out of the body. It is the seventh and the only chakra that is situated outside of the body. It is entirely connected to spirituality, ascension, higher consciousness, and enlightenment.

The activation of this chakra is the doorway to the path that can lead us to Divinity in our lives and can add peace and harmony to our lives at a soul fulfilling level. When this Chakra is unbalanced, it can lead to lack of purpose, disconnect from higher spiritual self, confusion, fatigue. 

The seven chakras in our body are placed very thoughtfully and systematically. Each chakra controls very powerful auras in our being and if we can unlock these energy centers we can reach our true potential in life and create magic all around us.